May 21, 2011

2 Area Guidance Counselors among Those Recognized as ‘Counselors That Change Lives’

Just in time for the kick-off of this year’s tour, The Colleges That Change Lives (CTCL) Board of Directors has announced awardees in the third annual “Counselors That Change Lives” program.
Ginger Patron, School and AVID Counselor at Patapsco High School, and Karen Tcheyan, Program Director for CollegeTracks at Wheaton High School, were among the ten public school guidance counselors recognized for their dedication to the college counseling profession.

“We know that these outstanding counselors support our mission to help students frame their search beyond college ratings and rankings,” said Maria Furtado, Chairperson of the CTCL Board and Director of Admissions at Eckerd College. “Too often media stories focus on the negative aspects of the college admissions process and not enough on the individuals who are true to the counseling profession and change the lives of students each and every day.”

Counselors were nominated by colleges in the 40-member CTCL organization. Each nominee was considered in light of the work he or she does to help students and families in the college admissions process.

“Karen Tcheyan embraces the spirit in which CTCL was started—finding the right fit for hardworking students,” wrote Heidi Reingel of McDaniel College. “Karen doesn’t stop caring after her students finalize their college choice. She helps them with their summer reading assignments and keeps in touch with them throughout their college careers to ensure a healthy transition and ultimately, academic success!”

Other counselors receiving special recognition include Emily Berty, Kirkwood High School, MO; Steffanie Gentile, Clark Montessori School, OH; Daniel Gin, Niles West High School, IL; Adam Kendis, North Star Academy Charter School of Newark, NJ; Stacy Lightfoot, Chattanooga School for The Arts and Sciences, TN; Jim Montague, Boston Latin School, MA; Margaret Smith, Chattanooga School of the Arts and Sciences, TN; Jeff Stahlman, New Albany High School, OH; and Jean Whalen, Pine Richland High School, PA.

The awardees will be recognized on the CTCL website and at a special reception at the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) annual conference, which will take place in September.

No comments:

Post a Comment